

GEOTECHNICAL SOCIETY OF EDMONTON

MINUTES FOR THE 36TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING May 27, 2004 University of Alberta Faculty Club

Welcome and Introduction of the Head Table

Welcoming Remarks Kevin Hunsche

- Introduction of the Head Table.
 - Vic Milligan Guest Speaker
 - Don Lewycky Vice President
 - Anjum Mullick Treasurer
 - Jack Seto Secretary
 - Les Johnson Program Chair
 - Roger Skirrow CGS Regional Director
 - John Percival NAIT Representative
 - Robert Donahue University Representative
 - Andrew Corkum Student Representative
 - Murray Innes Program Chair
 - Craig Campbell Member at Large
- > Recognition of Mobil Augers and Research Ltd. for contribution of wine for dinner.
- Grace by John Percival

Dinner

Ceremonial Cake Cutting

- In celebration of 35th Anniversary of Geotechnical Society of Edmonton
- By Ron Innes and Stan Thomson, two of the original GSE members of the executive

Business Portion of Meeting

Minutes of Last AGM

- > Motion by Kevin Hunsche to accept the minutes of the last AGM held May 14th, 2003.
- Motion seconded by Anjum Mullick.
- > Call for discussion or questions.
- > Vote to accept minutes: motion carried.

President's Report Kevin Hunsche

Treasurer's Report

- Anjum Mullick Motion by Robin Tweedie to accept the Treasurer's Report as presented.
- Motion seconded by Kevin Hunsche.
- > Call for discussion or questions.
- Vote to accept Treasurer's Report: motion carried.
- Request for nomination of auditors: Corey Froese and Don Mackenzie.

Vote to accept nominated auditors: motion carried.

Program Chair's Report Les Johnson

CGS Regional Director's Report

Roger Skirrow

Election of 2004/2005 Executive

> Nominations for executive positions received to date:

President: Don Lewycky Vice President: Murray Innes Program Chair: Kent Bannister Karen Jardine Treasurer: Yves Cormier Secretary: University Representative: Robert Donahue NAIT Representative: John Percival

Student Representative: **Gurpreet Singh Bala**

Web Site and Electronic Communications: Santiago Paz

Member at Large: Renato Clementino Member at Large: Gordon Zhang Member at Large: Don Proudfoot

- Call for additional nominations from the floor none added.
- Motion by Kevin Hunsche that the executive be acclaimed as nominated.
- Motion seconded by Anjum Mullick.
- Vote to accept nominated members: motion carried.
- Adjournment of the business portion of the meeting.

Presentation of Awards

Murray Harris Memorial Graduate Scholarship

Dmitri

Presented to Keely Wray

Elmer Brooker Scholarship

(no presentation)

Awarded to Keely Wray

NAIT Scholarship (no presentation)

Awarded to Allison Gregory (absent)

N.R. Morgenstern Award (no presentation)

Awarded to Amanda Willoughby (absent)

Stan Thomson Award

> No award winner for 2003/2004.

Guest Lecture

Some Uncertainties in Dam Engineering

- > Vic Milligan
- Thank you and presentation of gift to Vic Milligan by Murray Innes.

GSE Logo Award Winner

> Don Lewycky announced that Jeff Stobb was the GSE logo contest winner. Winning entry not yet available for display.

Meeting Adjournment

> Ceremonial passing of the President's Gavel to the incoming president (Don Lewycky) and adjournment of the Meeting by Kevin.

Meeting adjourned at 8:45 PM.

Minutes prepared by Jack Seto.